SBCC Leadership

SBCC Steering Committee

Michael Seifert, TX

SBCC Director Lilian Serrano, CA

Lilian Serrano is a third generation fronteriza, born and raised in the Tijuana-San Diego border region. She spent her teens in Oxnard, California, a small agricultural town in Ventura County. Lilian has over a decade of experience working in community education, human rights advocacy, and social justice work. She became civically active as a High School student in 2006, when a series of anti-immigrant proposals in the U.S. Congress sparked a national mobilization for immigrant rights. Her personal and professional expertise have allowed her to build and maintain strong ties in north San Diego County with community members impacted by immigration policies and farmworker families. Lilian earned her B.A. in Human Development and B.A. in Spanish from California State University San Marcos. Her professional experience includes serving as Co-Chair and Steering Committee member of the Southern Border Communities Coalition, Chair of the San Diego Immigrant Rights Consortium, Coordinator of Alianza Comunitaria and Co-Director of Universidad Popular. 


Andrea Guerrero, Co-Chair

SBCC Co-Chair Alba Jaramillo, AZ

Alba Jaramillo is an immigrant from Mexico, who grew up undocumented in the United States. Her experience as an immigrant living in the border influenced her in life’s work in fighting against oppression and defending immigrant rights. Alba holds a Juris Doctor from the Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law at Arizona State University and Bachelor of Arts in theatre arts and anthropology from the University of Arizona. She is a local and national leader in the areas of immigration, human rights, and the arts. She is currently, leading a national network of 19 independent immigration legal service organizations as Co-Executive Director of the Immigration Law & Justice Network. She is the first migrant and woman of color to ever serve in this role.

Nia Rucker

SBCC Co-Chair Jovanny Hernandez, NM

Jovanny is the Southern NM Field Organizer with the NM Dream Team.
Andrea Guerrero, Co-Chair

Andrea Guerrero, CA

Andrea Guerrero serves as the Executive Director of Alliance San Diego, which serves as a community empowerment organization that builds coalitions to promote justice and social change.


Pedro Rios, CA

Pedro Rios, CA

Pedro Rios serves as the director of the American Friends Service Committee’s U.S./Mexico Border Program and has been on staff with AFSC since 2003.


Pedro Rios, CA

Paulina Reyes, CA

Paulina Reyes serves as the chair of the San Diego Immigrant Rights Consortium and is currently a Staff Attorney at Immigrant Defenders Law Center’s Cross-Border Initiative.



Lizbeth Abeln, CA

Organizer with Inland Coalition for Immigrant Justice.



Mark Adams, AZ

Mark Adams serves as the US coordinator for Frontera de Cristo, a Presbyterian Border Ministry centered in Agua Prieta, Mexico and Douglas, AZ.

Kevin Bixby, NM

Gabriela Rodriguez Clark, AZ

Gabriela is the Network Organizer of the Southern Arizona Groups.



Arturo Aguila, NM

Arturo is the Executive Director of New Mexico Comunidades en Acción y de Fe (NM CAFe)


Leo Castañeda, NM

Leo is a border & immigration policy advocate with ACLU New Mexico.


JennyB&WChristina Maria Patiño Houle, TX

Christina Maria Patiño Houle is a part of Voces Unidas and the Network Weaver for the Rio Grande Valley Equal Voice Network


JennyB&WRamona Casas, TX

Ramona is an organizer with ARISE.


SBCC Staff



Jennifer Johnson, D.C.

Jennifer Johnson is the Border Policy Advisor for Southern Border Communities Coalition, based in Washington D.C.



Ricky Garza, TX

Ricky Garza is the Border Policy Counsel for the Southern Border Communities Coalition, based in McAllen Texas, in the Rio Grande Valley.


Nedy Velazquez, Washington D.C.

Nedy Velazquez is the Border Policy Coordinator for the Southern Border Communities Coalition, based in Washington D.C.




Privacy Policy / Terms & Conditions

Southern Border Communities Coalition is a program of Alliance San Diego.


Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or email.

Created with NationBuilder